Homemade Spaghetti Sauce

Two food posts in a row!  I’m on such a roll with my recipes this week that I couldn’t wait to share this, especially as it turned out so amazing.  I found this recipe in Taste of Home‘s Most Requested Recipes issue and instantly wanted to try it.  I love pasta but rarely eat it, mostly due to the fact that the sauces available in the grocery store are always a huge disappointment (and what is pasta if not a vehicle for the sauce?).

It was a bit odd for me to make this one, because it has meat in it.  I was, for many years, and up until very recently, a vegetarian.  Several years ago I added fish and eggs back into my diet but that was it.  I never ate cow, pig, or chicken (although very occasionally, like once a year or something, I’d have duck or lamb).  Within the last few months I’ve begun to integrate some meat back into my diet but it has been a weird experience for me.  I no longer think about meat the same and it has been such a long time since I’ve been “allowed” to order it that when I do I feel awkward.  Even now, there are some things I prefer vegetarian style, pizza and sandwiches being a couple of them.  This recipe seemed so delicious from the get-go though that I wanted to experience it in full, and I’m glad I did.

This is a crock-pot recipe and I was literally in there with a spoon, eating the sauce out of the crock-pot before it was even finished.  It is that good. Here is the recipe on their website and here are a few notes I made while making it:

  • The recipe says to leave in the crock pot for 8-10 hours, but I found that 6 was sufficient for mine (on low) and then I left it on warm for another couple of hours.
  • I added mushrooms to the recipe at the crock pot stage. 
  • I got Trader Joe’s fire roasted canned tomatoes, which I think added a bit of extra pop to the recipe.  
Leave a Reply

