Ratatouille & Brussels Sprouts

So to finish off my week I made Ratatouille, based off a recipe I found on allrecipes.com.  The recipe is fairly straightforward and easy to make, not to mention totally delicious.  You basically layer veggies in a casserole dish and shake a bunch of parmesan cheese on top of each layer.  It was easy to reheat on the stove later, which is a big bonus if you’re looking to use this as a quick lunch or dinner after work.  Here is the recipe on their website and here are a few notes I made while making it:

  • I added a couple extra cloves of garlic, 2 more zucchini, double the mushrooms and a lot more parmesan cheese (to taste).  
The 4th recipe of the week was actually something I stumbled on quite by accident, since I only planned for 3 recipes.  When I was visiting my mom over the holidays she made brussels sprouts, which I’d never actually had before.  I loved them and so when I was out getting ingredients for the ratatouille, spaghetti sauce, and poached eggs, I picked up some brussels sprouts.  Lucky for me, since I’d never made them before, they came with a recipe on the back!  It was pretty simple: slice the sprouts in half, blanch in boiling water (I had to look up the term blanch and found out that it means to drop in boiling water for a couple of minutes to retain color and nutrients), then roast in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes.  I added a bit of olive oil, salt, and pepper to the brussels sprouts when they were in the oven and when I brought them out I put a touch of dressing on them.  They were delicious!
2 thoughts on “Ratatouille & Brussels Sprouts

  1. Pingback: 30 Recipes — Favorites & Things I’ve Learned Thus Far « Blessed*Happy*Healthy*Prosperous

  2. Pingback: Recipe 48: Chicken, Brussels Sprouts, Pasta, & Creamy Sauce « Blessed*Happy*Healthy*Prosperous

Leave a Reply

