Green Eggs and umm… Fritters.

Continuing in my quest to perfect the breakfast egg (previously I made scrambled eggs & poached eggs w/hollandaise sauce), I decided to make an omelette for my Sunday morning breakfast.  I followed Julia Child’s basic omelette recipe, but added épinards blanchis [blanched, chopped sinpach] from a later recipe in the book, plus I threw in some onions and garlic.

They turned out amazing and I had quite a bit of the épinards blanchis, onion, and garlic mix leftover.  What to do?

So I decided to re-make a recipe I found a couple of years ago when I had to bring a dish for a vegetarian potluck we had at work.  I made zucchini fritters, which are basically the easiest thing ever, and taste delicious.  Here’s the original recipe, with the addition of the épinards blanchis at the bottom.

The recipe requires:

3 zucchinis, grated

1 onion, diced or 1/2 c. épinards blanchis

2 tbsp olive oil

3 eggs

1/4 c. cheese, grated (I used parmesan)

1/2 c. flour

salt/pepper

After grating the zucchini and chopping the onion (or making the épinards blanchis), place the mix in a dish towel and squeeze to get out any extra liquid.  Heat 1 tbsp. oil, add the veggie mix and fry for about 5 min., then transfer to a bowl.  Mix in the eggs, flour, cheese, and spice until it looks like (green) pancake batter.

Heat the other tbsp. of oil in the pan and drop in small pancakes of batter.  It only takes a couple of minutes on each side — you just want them to be golden brown.

I like to smother mine in honey, the pancakes soak it up and become even denser and tastier!  If there are leftovers you can store them in the refrigerator and heat up alongside eggs the next morning.

Leave a Reply

