Banana Bread [& more muffins!]

I’ve discovered the best banana bread recipe ever (no, really, I loved it, my coworkers loved it, and a day after finishing the first two loaves my boyfriend went out to get me the ingredients to repeat the recipe).  It’s fairly simple to make and most of the ingredients were ones we had on hand or were cheap to purchase.

I found the recipe in my Taste of Home Most Requested Recipes issue but you can find it online here.  I had only one major change which was:

  • The recipe calls for 2 packages of instant vanilla pudding mix.  When I was at the store they had banana cream pudding mix, which I thought was a no brainer.  So I use 1 package vanilla and one package banana cream for added banana goodness.  I also accidentally got more pudding mix than I needed, so I used the leftover to actually make pudding to go with my banana bread.  It was okay, but I decided that next time I was going to make pudding from scratch.  I also had trouble not eating the banana bread batter, which is almost as delicious (if not more so) than the final product.
In other news, if you’ve been reading long enough to have seen my chocolate banana muffins, you might recall that I had plenty of the dry mix leftover with which to make more muffins.  Since we had some granny smith apples in the refrigerator I decided to make some oatmeal-apple-cinnamon muffins.  (I used 2 c. oatmeal, 3 apples peeled, chopped, and baked for 10 minutes to soften them, and 5 tbsp cinnamon).  The holed cover on the cinnamon container came off without my knowing and so I dumped in way more cinnamon than intended, which is why the quantity is so high, especially considering that there is already cinnamon in the initial mix.  However, I just went with it and the muffins came out tasting great, though they were a little dry for my taste (I think next time I’d add some additional oil in there).  In any case, I had about 15 left when I took the plate to work today and they were gone by the time I got home.
3 thoughts on “Banana Bread [& more muffins!]

  1. Pingback: 30 Recipes — Favorites & Things I’ve Learned Thus Far « Blessed*Happy*Healthy*Prosperous

Leave a Reply

