Cheddar Seafood Chowder & Mussels

Cheddar Seafood Chowder

On Saturday evening I finished off the recipes for the week by making Cheddar Seafood Chowder from Taste of Home and it turned out amazing.  It’s a really flavorful, creamy, thick chowder and the perfect soup to make in winter.  Here is the recipe and here are my notes:

  • I changed some of the quantities around: 3/4 c. onion, 1/2 c. butter, 1 carrot, and 1/2 lb shrimp.  I did this because most of these recipes serve such huge quantities and often I’m the only one eating them, so I want to make sure nothing goes to waste!  
  • I also added/changed a few things: I used apple smoked mozzarella instead of sharp cheddar cheese, I added some shiitake mushrooms that I had leftover from my Bok Choy Salad, and I added a bit of salt to flavor.
~*~  ~*~  ~*~

Mussels steamed with Leeks, Tomatoes, and Garlic

This was a fun one to make because I’ve never worked with leeks or mussels before.  It took some tracking down to get the mussels because they didn’t sell them at the grocery store, luckily I work not too far from Vis Seafoods and they were getting in a fresh shipment the day after I inquired, so I was able to pick some up on my lunch break.  Here is the recipe from Fine Cooking and here are my notes:

  • Just in case they don’t explain it online and like me you’ve never cooked mussels before, here is what they had to say about cleaning mussels in the magazine: “Clean mussels just before cooking by scrubbing them well under cold water, but don’t soak them.  Pull off and discard any fibrous “beards” attached to any of the mussels.”  Discard any mussels that are gaping open.  
  • The sauce is hot!  But the heat doesn’t last or overpower the mussels.  
  • For a one person meal use 1 leek and 1/2 lb. mussels (same quantities for the other ingredients).  
One thought on “Cheddar Seafood Chowder & Mussels

  1. Pingback: Recipe 26: Mussels in Cream Sauce « Blessed*Happy*Healthy*Prosperous

Leave a Reply

