Homemade Snickers Bars

“A Simple I love you means more than money.” — Frank Sinatra

As part of my continuing effort to celebrate friend’s and family member’s birthdays, I needed a good recipe for a coworker’s birthday on Tuesday.  Thankfully, last week I joined Pinterest and I immediately located the perfect treat: homemade snickers bars.  Let me just say that, not only did I get people asking for me to make them again but I was told more than once that they were better than the real thing.

This is a pretty simple recipe, if a little time consuming (because you have to wait for each layer to cool before moving on), and one of the benefits is that you can eat the snickers bars frozen, refrigerated or at room temperature, so I was able to make them on Sunday night and freeze them until Tuesday.

You can find the recipe here and I’ll give you my notes:

  • I don’t know if I did something wrong or what, but my nougat layer was coming out more peanut butter colored than white, which I found disappointing.  As a result, I ended up adding roughly 3x the amount of marshmallow fluff the recipe calls for to get it whiter (it ended up a little creamy off-white).  This did not prove detrimental to taste.
  • I used caster sugar for the fine consistency.
  • I used my food processor to chop the peanuts.
  • The top chocolate layer for some reason did not melt correctly and became like a dry chocolate peanut paste (I used my makeshift double boiler method).  I don’t know what happened, because the bottom chocolate layer turned out fine and they are made the exact same way.  To remedy this I ended up adding whipping cream to the chocolate/peanut butter mix until it became the consistency I wanted.  This also did not prove detrimental to the taste.
And if you’re wondering what happened to recipe’s 21-23, they’re on the Valentine’s Day posting, I just didn’t label it as such. 🙂
One thought on “Homemade Snickers Bars

  1. Pingback: 30 Recipes — Favorites & Things I’ve Learned Thus Far « Blessed*Happy*Healthy*Prosperous

Leave a Reply

