Mussels in Cream Sauce

After trying mussels for the first time a couple of weeks ago I was immediately hooked and knew that I wanted to try them again in a cream sauce.  So I scoured the internet to find the perfect recipe.  The one I eventually landed on was from the May 2001 issue of Bon Appétit magazine and had 4-5 star reviews on Epicurious.  I’m a big believer in reviews (I won’t try a recipe or buy anything off Amazon without reading the reviews first) and these ones sold me.

Let me just say, this was amazing.  It just so happened to be that the night I made the first batch of mussels in the red sauce I had a friend over and that same friend was over tonight to try the mussels in cream sauce.  The first recipe was good but this one was extra special.  We both ended up drinking the leftover sauce right out of the bowl it was so delicious.

I didn’t change anything about the recipe so no notes, but here is where you can find it on Epicurious, (I will tell you, however, that I used Erath Pinot Gris as the white wine, and we thought it worked very well).

One of the best things about living in Bellingham has to be the easy access to fresh seafood.  I mentioned in another post that I got my mussels from Vis Seafood, however I did not mention that they had other items to purchase that I wanted just as much.  I called ahead to make sure they had mussels in stock and they had just gotten in a fresh shipment today, so while I was waiting to be helped I had time to browse the other items they stock in their store.  I picked up a beautiful rectangular white plate, a shell shaped sauce bowl, and a few seafood forks.  I’m so excited every time I get to add to my cooking collection!

3 thoughts on “Mussels in Cream Sauce

  1. Pingback: 30 Recipes — Favorites & Things I’ve Learned Thus Far « Blessed*Happy*Healthy*Prosperous

Leave a Reply

