Fruit Leather

Hi there!  It’s been a while — packing, work, school, and ER visits (another post) have me busy busy busy!  I have hardly managed to go grocery shopping, let alone cook or bake, but I did manage this recipe for fruit leather.  It’s another pinterest find (the original source is here).  I wasn’t overly impressed with the results, but I think the difficulties were mine and not the recipe’s fault.  I’d love if someone else gave it a try and let me know how it turned out!

Anyway, here are some notes I had:

  • I didn’t wait for the fruit to thaw totally, so I had to use a bit of juice  to get the fruit (mango, pineapple, strawberry) to blend.
  • My oven only goes as low as 170 degrees.  Even with the extra 20 degrees, it took from 4pm to 12am, 8 hours in the oven (no heat) while we slept, and again from 8am to 2:30pm with heat to finish drying.  
  • When it came out, the fruit was partially leathery and partially too firm (it was brittle enough to break), so it probably could have come out of the oven sooner but I was at work (the boyfriend was home to make sure nothing went up in flames) so I couldn’t check up on it every hour.  
  • It tasted fine, if a little bitter.  I used honey instead of agave, but I don’t think this would have had too much affect on taste.  I ate it all in one sitting though, so not bad! 
Leave a Reply

