Italy: The Uffizi

On Saturday I spent nearly five hours at the Uffizi Gallery, walking through every single one of the rooms.  Despite the long lines around the building I managed to flash my Uffizi card and get right in, cutting in front of everyone else.  Since I spent so much time there I ate at the cafe and gazed out across the city at eye level with the Duomo’s dome.

20120410-154217.jpg

I couldn’t take pictures of the art, though I did sneak in one of my favorite statue.

Laocoonte con i Figli

20120410-154247.jpg

I wrote down three pages of artwork that made an impression on me, so that the next time I go (my Uffizi card lets me cut in line and I get in free as many times as I want) I can spend more time with those specific pieces, and so that I could find out more about their history online.  I noticed that I was very particular when it came to the more religious themed artwork, which dominates the entire gallery, so I only chose a few that were “Madonna with Child”, etc., and the pieces I spent the most time with were fairly violent (not so much because I enjoy the violence but because those pieces exhibited the best emotion), or were painted so life like as to seem like a photo, or had some other special quality that struck me as interesting.

My favorites (a very few from my three page list):

Allegory of Vanity Antonio de Pereda

Still Life Abraham Mignon

Massacre of the Innocents Marco Benefial

(this was probably my favorite, although it is impossible to find this particular version of “Massacre of the Innocents” online, and I don’t particularly care for the others)

Venus of Urbino Tiziano Vecellio

Adam and Eve Lukas Cranach il Vecchio

The Birth of Venus and Spring Botticelli

Judith Slaying Holofernes Artemisia Gentileschi

(another one that became a particular favorite)

Leave a Reply

