Better Than Whoopie Pies

It’s been a while since I was busy making three new recipes a week and I missed quite a few coworker birthdays while I was away in Italy, so I decided to whip a couple things up for a birthday tomorrow.  I browsed around a bit because I needed something inexpensive (I’m still pretty broke) and I ended up stumbling across this recipe for Chocolate Sandwich Cookies on allrecipes.com.  These are pretty much totally amazing (the batter was so good I’m surprised I was able to bake any at all) and simple to make.  The only thing I changed was substituting brownie batter for the second package of cake mix.

Ingredients:

1 package Dark Chocolate Cake Mix

1 package Brownie Mix

4 eggs

2/3 c. vegetable oil

1 (8oz) package cream cheese, softened

2 c. confectioners sugar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Stir together cake and brownie mix, adding eggs and oil, and mix until well blended.

Shape the batter into small balls and place them on the cookie sheet.

Bake for 10-12 min. in the oven until firm.

Let the cake cookies cool for a bit before removing to wire racks.

To make the filling, beat the cream cheese and sugar until smooth.

Spread the filling between two cooled cookies.

Nomnomnomnom.

There weren’t enough cookies for all the employees so I made a batch of my favorite banana chocolate chip muffins too.

And now feel free to be totally jealous that you don’t work with me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

