Oatmeal Squares of the Fruity Persuasion

Since I’ve been in such a financial crunch lately I’ve been looking for ways to cut down on spending and food is one of my big spending areas.  So last week I gave myself $50 in cash with which to purchase groceries for two weeks (last month I spent about $90 a paycheck, not including the times I ate out, and let me tell you that did not go down well with my bank account balance).  Since I had less to work with I really tried to focus on using foods I already had in the house.  One of those happened to be oatmeal.

I’m not a particularly big fan of oatmeal just as oatmeal, so I wanted to find a more creative way to use it that would still be fairly healthy.  I stumbled upon this article called 11 Ways to Wake Up Oatmeal and found a winner with their Blueberry Banana Oat Cakes (which, by the way, don’t need to be microwaved — I just stuck mine in the oven at 350 degrees for 15 minutes and it came out great).

But then I ran out of bananas.  And that’s when things got interesting.  I started experimenting with other foods I had around that seemed like they would work well within the recipe, and I came up with an alternate version of the Blueberry Oat Cakes that didn’t use banana.  My boyfriend tried them and said they’d be good, “if only they didn’t have coconut or blueberries in them”, so I turned the recipe around again to make a modified version of an apple crisp, which he loved.  So here, for your tasting pleasure, are the two spin-off recipes I made from the original.  They use a large and fairly motley set of ingredients so feel free to add/subtract/experiment on your own.

[Modified] Blueberry Oat Cakes

Ingredients

1 c. dry oats

1/4 c. Bob’s Red Mill 7 Grain Cereal

1/4 c. almond meal

1/4 c. brown sugar

1 tsp. cinnamon

dash of vanilla extract

1 tbsp. chia seeds

2/3 c. coconut flakes

2 tbsp. ovaltine

3 tbsp. apricot preserves

3 tbsp. honey apple butter

2 tbsp. almond butter

3/4 c. frozen blueberries

Mix all dry ingredients together, then add the preserves and butters, then finally the blueberries.  Put into a baking dish in the oven at 350 degrees for 15 minutes.  Serve.  (A lot of ingredients for such simple instructions!)

Oat Cake Apple Crisp

Ingredients

1 c. dry oats

1/4 c. Bob’s Red Mill 7 Grain Cereal

1/4 c. almond meal

1/4 c. brown sugar

1 tsp. cinnamon

dash of vanilla extract

2 tbsp. ovaltine

3 tbsp. apricot preserves

3 tbsp. honey apple butter

2 tbsp. peanut butter

1 peeled and cut granny smith apple

extra oats and cinnamon

Mix all dry ingredients together, then add the preserves and butters, then finally the apples.  Put into a baking dish, then sprinkle on some extra oats and cinnamon.  Place in the oven at 350 degrees for 15 minutes.  Serve.

4 thoughts on “Oatmeal Squares of the Fruity Persuasion

Leave a Reply

