Banana [Faux] Ice-Cream

I can’t believe I’ve finally made it to recipe number 50!  I know that my goal at the beginning of the year was to do 3 recipes per week and I’ve fallen short of that since the study abroad trip, but I’ve still managed to try an amazing number of new foods and increased my cooking and baking and experimentation skills to new heights.  I am so glad that I made this one of my new year’s resolutions — without a doubt it has been my most favorite!

For number 50 I tried something that was just fun and not at all complicated.  In fact, at its most basic form you only need 1 ingredient!  You might have seen it already, since I know it has been making the rounds on Pinterest (of course that’s where I found it).

Ingredients

2 frozen bananas, chopped

(I peel the bananas, stick them in a plastic baggie, then stick them in the fridge for a couple of hours)

2 tbsp. almond butter

1/4 c. coconut flakes

1 tbsp. chia seeds

1/2 c. frozen blueberries

Chop your frozen bananas up and stick them in the food processor along with the almond butter, coconut flakes, and chia seeds.  Mix until it reaches ice-cream consistency, then add blueberries and serve!  This makes approximately 2 cups of ice cream, so I stick whatever I have left over (the first time I didn’t have any left over…) in a tupperware in the freezer.  It’s great as a snack/dessert and is healthier than regular ice-cream, not to mention dairy free and vegan friendly!

Since you really only need the bananas to make the ice-cream, it’s a cheap sweet treat too (really!  the first time I made this I only used bananas and it was totally amazing).  It’s super versatile because you can add whatever sounds good to you (I think next time I’d like to do have frozen peaches and cinnamon or strawberries).

One thought on “Banana [Faux] Ice-Cream

Leave a Reply

