Happy (belated) Thanksgiving!

I can’t believe it’s been over two months since my last post!  I have been a busy girl lately and while things aren’t going to slow down for another couple of weeks I did want to get back on here and start posting again!

I know that it’s after Thanksgiving but we still have another food intensive holiday coming up and this post will be up next year for anyone googling Thanksgiving dinners, so I just wanted to share with you what I did (by myself for my boyfriend and I) for our Thanksgiving celebration.  I’m not going to get into the recipes in detail, just list any changes I made, but I will provide the links to the places I discovered these amazing recipes.

(1) Turkey

I have never been into turkey.  It’s just never been my preferred meat and it’s usually dry or tasteless so I wasn’t super keen on making on myself for the first time but it was my first Thanksgiving cooking for someone else and doing the whole thing from scratch, so I wanted to do it right, which of course meant there had to be turkey.  That said, I loved this recipe.  Not only was it simple and not overly time consuming, but it made for a pretty delicious turkey.  If I ever need to make a turkey again I will definitely not be looking for a new recipe.

(2) Stuffing

You can’t have Thanksgiving without stuffing (unless you can’t have gluten, or so I hear).  This recipe was really simple and delicious.  The only changes I made were (1) I found that it took longer than the prescribed 45 minutes to cook, so at 45 minutes I took it out of the oven, stirred it up a bit in the baking dish, then stuck it back in the oven for another 30 minutes and (2) I didn’t have the ingredients needed to make the cornbread from scratch so I used a box mix for that.

(3) Mashed Potatoes

Another Thanksgiving staple.  Simple recipe in case you didn’t already know how to make mashed potatoes.  I used Idaho potatoes instead of Yukon Gold because I’m an Idaho potato kind of girl.  They still turned out delicious.

(4) Gravy

You need gravy for those potatoes and the turkey.  This was a great recipe that resulted in a thick gravy.

(5) Glazed Pumpkin Poundcake (or muffins or bread)

Oh my God make this now.

Triple the glaze (trust me) and if you want muffins instead they take about 25 minutes (toothpick test) and bread takes about 40 minutes.

Leave a Reply

