Ambrosia (Fruit) Salad

IMG_1158

Sometimes when I’m at the grocery store I spot some kind of food that I’ve never seen or heard of before and if I have the extra money I’ll go ahead and try it out, because I’m all about trying new food.  About a week ago I was grocery shopping and while browsing for jams and preserves I found something called banana curd.  Next to it there were all sorts of other kinds of curds ranging from coconut to lime.  I was intrigued, so I took it off the shelf to read the ingredients (it wasn’t healthy per say but it didn’t seem like it was going to kill me either) and read the description:

Dickinson’s British-style Creme Curds are blissfully delectable-made from real dairy butter & fresh eggs.  they’re magical flavormakers for cakes, trifles, frostings or dessert fillings.  Blend into whipped cream, yogurt or cream cheese for wonderful dips & toppings.  Or enjoy on a scone.  

Sounds delicious, right?  On the top of the lid they have a little pull out with recipes you can try using the creme curd, which includes Coconut Chocolate Dessert Shells, Decadent Mousse, and Ambrosia Salad.

This is going to out me as a total nerd, but the second I saw Ambrosia Salad I thought of Sims 3.

Well, unlike on Sims where the Ambrosia is made with Death Fish and Life Fruit and provides the sim who eats it with immortality (like a Greek God!), real Ambrosia Salad is apparently just code for fruit salad with creamy dressing.  Say what?  So I immediately procured the other necessary ingredients and set to work on my own Ambrosia Salad.  It was good, but not great.  The problem was that the water in the fruits combined with the cream dressing to make it watery creamy.  It still tasted great but it lacked the great “mouthfeel” that I thought the dish had the potential for.  So I set out to perfect the recipe for the cream dressing and ended up with the most delicious fruit salad I’ve ever had (cream sauce or no, I mean, fruit salads are delicious anyway, but the cream dressing is the difference between fruit salad and Ambrosia).

IMG_1152

Ingredients

1 Chobani Greek Yogurt, pineapple flavor

1/4 c. Cream Cheese, pineapple flavor

1/4 c. Banana Creme Curd

1/4 c. Coconut Creme Curd

  • Simply place all the ingredients in a bowl (or a tupperware if you want to save it) and mix with a whisk until fully blended.

IMG_1153IMG_1155

The original recipe uses coconut curd and sour cream and then has you mix all the ingredients with the fruit.  This always turns out watery for me.  So in addition to changing the ingredients to make it a bit more thickly creamy, I also separate the cream from the fruit until ready to serve.  Or turn it into a dip!  I didn’t list any fruit ingredients because you can use any fruit you like to make it, but I wanted a lot of flavor variety so I used pears, peaches, pineapple, mandarin oranges, grapes, apples, strawberries, kiwi, watermelon, banana, and raisins.

IMG_1162

The great thing about this recipe is that it travels easy, which is great if your work has a refrigerator, because you can put the fruit in one tupperware, the dressing in another, and then just toss and enjoy when you’re ready to eat!

5 thoughts on “Ambrosia (Fruit) Salad

  1. I love trying out new foods at the store too. The banana curd sounds delicious! Have you ever tried apple butter cream? I get it from Trader Joe’s, and it is fantastic. It is usually found in the jam aisle. I put it on everything. I would love to see what kind of things people make with that!

  2. Pingback: In Appreciation of Coffee & Sunday Brunch | Blessed*Happy*Healthy*Prosperous

Leave a Reply

