Oat-Chia-Buckwheat-Hemp-Almond-Banana-Blueberry Muffins

Sometimes I just get the urge to bake. I’m sure it has nothing to do with trying to postpone homework, it just comes out of nowhere and I have no choice but to comply.  It has been a little while since I last used the amazing muffin mix recipe but luckily I had all of the ingredients on hand to make said muffins. I decided I wanted to have a little bit more than just banana in my muffins but I also wanted to make sure that they were healthy so I could have them for breakfast this week, which meant no chocolate chips.  Boo!  But I definitely need to cut down on the sugar I’ve been having recently.

So instead of chocolate chips I added 6 tbsp. oatmeal, 4 tbsp. Qi’a Cereal made with Chia, Hemp and Buckwheat, 2 tbsp. sliced almonds, and half a bag of frozen blueberries.

20130511-160002.jpg20130511-155948.jpg

The basic mix is:

8 cups all-purpose flour
3 cups sugar
3 tablespoons baking powder
2 teaspoons salt
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
2 teaspoons ground nutmeg

You can combine those and seal them up in a plastic bag until you want to make muffins. Then you just need 2.5 c. of the dry mix + 1 egg, 1 c. milk, and 1/2 c. butter + whatever you want to add (bananas have always been my favorite addition — I usually just add two and I’m good to go). Bake for 20 min. at 400 degrees.

20130511-155955.jpg

Leave a Reply

